VODAN Africa SDSC 1- A Snapshot


This event has passed

On Thursday 07 May 2020, we launch a new three-part series hosted by VODAN Africa in partnership with Kampala International University (KIU), Leiden University, Leiden Institute of Advanced Computer Science, GO FAIR US/San Diego Supercomputer Center, and RavelWorks Africa.


  • Date: 05/07/2020 07:00 PM - 05/07/2020 08:00 PM
  • Location: Online Event

Description

The first webinar will include country spotlights – the current situation from a national perspective, challenges, and progress in COVID-19 related data stewardship.  Speakers and countries represented:

  • Dr. Sakinat Folorunso (Nigeria)
  • Mariam Basajja (Uganda)
  • Getu Tadele (Ethiopia)
  • Morgane Wirtz (Tunisia)
  • Dr. Reginald Maudlin Nalugala (Kenya)

We will also hear from Prof. Dr. Mirjam van Reisen (Leiden University) and Prof. Francisca Oladipo, Executive Director of VODAN-Africa (KIU), who will frame the initiative and VODAN-Africa progress.

I hope you will consider tuning in, and also saving the next two Thursdays at 9 AM PDT/12 PM EDT/6 PM CEST/7 PM EAT for parts 2 & 3.  Next week (14 May), we will focus on Ethiopia and Kenya, delving into topics such as

  • The role of data science and data stewardship related to COVID-19 in Ethiopia
  • Social distancing in slums and how VODAN-Africa can contribute to understanding uneven effects and serve data-driven policies